UELAC DOMINION CONFERENCE (Windsor, Ontario) May 31 - June 3, 2007
 
Half Day Tour of Historic Sandwich
Untitled Document
 
 
 
 
 
 

 


Bus will depart at 8:30 a.m.

Established in 1796 after the American Revolution by the terms of the Jay Treaty signed in 1794, the Sandwich neighbourhood on Windsor's west side is home to the oldest buildings in the city.

Ontario's oldest, continuous European settlement invites you to discover their history through a series of historical murals. The works feature such significant events in the development of Sandwich as the founding of the area and the Battles of Detroit and Lake Erie as well as highlighting prominent black and other historical figures.

We will visit the Duff-Baby House built in 1798 on the south shore of the Detroit River in Sandwich. The Duff-Baby House is named for its first two Loyalist owners, Alexander Duff and James Baby.

Recognized among the most significant late eighteenth-century landmarks in Upper Canada, the Duff-Baby House restored in the 1990s, is now owned by the Ontario Heritage Foundation.

The Georgian-style McGregor-Cowan House built c1808, is believed to be the second oldest building in Windsor.

St. John's Anglican Church Cemetery contains gravestones dating from the 18th century and is the oldest Anglican cemetery west of Niagara Falls.

Through Fenian raids, prohibition and sensational murder trials, Mackenzie Hall has served the community for more that 100 years. Built in 1855 by Alexander Mackenzie, Canada's second prime minister, the Courthouse proudly honours its historical past and serves as a cultural centre today. Original furnishings of this former courthouse are still in use.

Bus returns to Holiday Inn Select 12:00 p.m. Buffet lunch will be provided at The Holiday Inn Select for those returning from the Sandwich Tour.

Untitled Document

Copyright © 2017  UELAC -  Bicentennial Branch  All Rights Reserved.
Web Design by R. James Frith & Associates Inc.